The Arranged Marriage Syndrome


There comes a time in every Indian kid’s life when their parents pose THE question. “So, when are you getting married?” Unfortunately (or fortunately, I don’t know just yet) that time has arrived for me. Maybe it is that hidden cynical beast in me that promotes the ideology of arranged marriages being a pointless endeavor. I fail at convincing my folks at every juncture of this everlasting argument. My “logical” (in my eyes at least) arguments are met with a cynical scoff. Apparently, I am way too idealistic and have no idea as to how the real world functions. I have a nontraditional view towards orthodox customs. Point noted.

I never bought in to the ritualistic traditions that came with being born in a family of orthodox brahmins. But that’s partly the reason why I grew up to be an atheistic psychopath. I digress. The concept of arranged marriages is a bit of a folly to me. How can somebody base their entire life (that’s how long marriages are supposed to last, right?) living with a person who they did not choose in the first place? I know my parents’ argument and honestly, I can’t fault them. Statistics speak for themselves. Arranged marriages last longer than their lovey-dovey counterparts. Parents 1 Cynical Asshole 0.

Then comes the part about horoscopes. This was a phenomenon that has existed since time immemorial. The stars aligned in a certain way on the day and the time of your birth, and that determines how your life would turn out. I don’t know enough to argue about that. But the fact that a random person, born in the same caste, has to have their stars aligned in such a way that they match your star alignments would lead both of you to lead a wonderful life together. Seems a wee bit too preposterous, does it not? This is another argument in which my parents like to play their statistics trump card. Only because they match horoscopes and get you married (arranged nonetheless) does your life turn rosy and everybody lives happily ever after, much like a Grimm fairy tale. Parents 2 Cynical Asshole 0. Holy crap, I am losing this one.

Then comes the fun part of exchanging photographs of the potential bride and groom.

Dad: “Nikhil, send me a few photographs in which you are not dressed as a street urchin. Ideally, a suit would be fine, but just in case, send a couple with kurta and pyjama (ethnic Indian attire)”.

Damn it. Got to hunt for those elusive suit, that I had last worn for my interviews.

Me: “Here you go, Dad. There are 7-8 of them. Choose the best one and use them with caution.”
Dad: “Here are the photographs of multiple girls. Tell me who you like best.”
Me: “How about her, Dad?”
Dad: “Nope. Her dad consulted the astrologer with your horoscope and it did not match. Also, the father wanted a fairer boy for his fair girl.”

Rejected by a girl’s dad and his minion, the Astrologer. Rejection by a girl is something that I can come to terms with but rejection by her dad and an astrologer. My parents were right. It might actually take 2 years to find a girl, whose stars and skin color are compatible with my own. Parents 3 Cynical Asshole 0.

I can still forgive my parents, who would obviously have my best interests at heart. But, seeing them succumb to peer pressure from the weed called society is what irks me the most. Just because some random maami (notorious for gossiping, I must add), tells my dad, my brother’s second aunt’s granddaughter is getting married.

Random Maami: “When is your son getting married? Oh, he is in Ameeerica… Must have found a girl for himself. This generation boys I tell you.”

Cue a phone call from my Dad.

Dad: “No pressure da.. Just letting you know, that so-and-so’s brother’s second aunt’s granddaughter is getting married. I plan to go and attend the wedding. I am going to take your horoscope and distribute it there.”

Way to pimp me out, Dad. It doesn’t aid me one bit that my peers are getting married themselves and brag about how awesome their marital bliss is. You can only imagine how that conversation goes down with the folks.

Me: “Dad, my friend is getting married.”

5 seconds of silence later.

Dad:”Oh.. Are you planning to come for the wedding? Let me know if you are. I’ll have a few girls lined up for you to see.”

Score…. Speed Dating.. Parents 4 Cynical Asshole 0

At this point, trailing 4 points to none of my own, I have to give up. Maybe arranged marriages are not as bad as people make it out to be. It’s like dating a person from Day 1 and getting to know and understand the likes and dislikes and having the will and fear of social stigma to live together with that person till, as they say, death do them part. All of this ranting just made me realize something. Something, that I was too much of a hard head to realize.

I am a cynical asshole! Peace be with you.

Visit blogadda.com to discover Indian blogs

Top Blog Posts In India

35 thoughts on “The Arranged Marriage Syndrome

  1. you can probably tell your parents if the arranged marriage breaks, you would blame them for it, but in case a love marriage fails, you would blame yourself, so it’s in their best interests to not arrange a marriage for you 😀

  2. hey Good one 🙂 🙂 arrange marriage is a funny process n u’ve put it out nicely 🙂 🙂 kudos!!! n all the best in ur hunt 🙂 🙂

  3. take it from an educated, well earning brahmin girl in her 20s, life is so much more easier for men. we have such a short pool of fish to start with, and then so many guys and their parents run scared of us when they see our ambition and self-proclaimed atheism. it doesn’t help either that people associate (girls’) age with the concept of diminishing returns. you have it good, n.

    • Au contraire.. I am also an educated, well earning brahmin boy in my 20s with atheistic tendencies. There are many ways the ROI in terms of the girl’s age can be misinterpreted. Unfortunately, the concept of love marriage is something that seems to be non-negotiable with parents. Having it good is quite a relative term I must say.

  4. I’m a 20 something athiest from a Tam bram family, busy fending off my dad. Kudos to u for deciding to take the plunge tho. Hope ur “stars” point to something good 😛 and of course … May the force be with u.. Cheers!!

  5. 😀 It is just the start! Hmm okay, let me not be cynical! Put the other way, you will have food for your blog 😉 If the “stars” are with you then you may gain some points 😉

  6. Aethist. Idealist. Cynic. Hopeless romantic. Been there, done exactly that. But… have no girlfriend, shall not argue: parents 5, us 0. Makes me realize thr r so mannnnnny ppl out thr exactly the way we are
    thinking just like us
    fending off arranged marriage just like us
    and succumbing just like us
    maybe we shall meet another person just like us…..
    cynical assholes rule……just softly.

  7. Arranged marriages may last longer, but that is not a sign of a successful marriage is it?
    In India a lot of people stay married for the same reasons they get married – for society, for financial security…whatever!

    So parents 0, cynical whachamacallit 1 😛

    • well… if we are playing a numbers game, then arranged marriage trumps others purely because of social stigma associated with divorce/murder…. conventional tam-bram parents generally tend to prefer numbers…. 😀

      • 🙂
        All I meant was the numbers will always be there, your interpretation of it is what is different.
        Social stigma is not something I care too much about. But, to each his own of course.

  8. Hey just FYI…its not only in arranged marriages that the horoscope is matched! My jerk of a ex-boyfriend dumped me after a 2 year relationship that was on the path of a “love marriage” coz our horoscopes didn’t match!! Ya such people actually exist!

    • I am sorry you had to go through that Shruti.. I know how it is to get out of a 2 year relationship on social clauses…. Hang in there… 🙂

  9. “Random Maami: “When is your son getting married? Oh, he is in Ameeerica… Must have found a girl for himself. This generation boys I tell you.”

    Living with it everyday!

  10. Pingback: The Arranged Marriage Syndrome

Leave a comment